Tuesday, December 31, 2013

Corey James Anderson fastest ODI century Video

Corey James Anderson fastest ODI century Video
New Zealand v West Indies, 3rd ODI, Queenstown
The Report by Kanishkaa Balachandran
January 1, 2014
21 overs New Zealand 283 for 4 (Anderson 131*, Ryder 104) v West Indies
Live scorecard and ball-by-ball details

A record that stood for nearly 18 years was finally broken on New Year's day in 2014. Corey Anderson bludgeoned the West Indies bowlers to score the fastest ODI century, off just 36 balls, eclipsing the record of 37 balls set by a 16-year-old Shahid Afridi in 1996. Anderson finished unbeaten on 131 and such was his savagery that he even managed to overshadow Jesse Ryder, who to helped himself to a century. The pair powered New Zealand to a scarcely believable 283 in just 21 overs. This, after there were fears of yet another washout.

Irrespective of the format, this was the fastest ever international century. While it's true that the grounds in New Zealand are not the biggest, many, if not all of Anderson's hits would have cleared the rope at any venue across the world. He blasted 14 sixes, two behind Rohit Sharma's world record of 16 and New Zealand's sixes tally stood at 22, another world record. India hit 19 sixes in the same match in which Rohit smashed 209 against Australia, but that was off 50 overs. New Zealand managed all those in just 21. West Indies' bowling figures told another story, for it's rare that the least expensive economy rate was 11, by Nikita Miller.

Full report to follow

Toss West Indies chose to bowl v New Zealand
Rain kept everyone waiting but the weather had improved significantly to allow for a toss, nearly five hours after the scheduled start. Dwayne Bravo won the toss and decided to bowl in a match reduced to 21 overs, giving the spectators, who showed up on New Year's day and waited patiently despite the cold weather, some cricket to cheer for.

West Indies lost Darren Sammy, who injured his hamstring in the morning while running on the outfield with his team-mates. With Darren Bravo back home and Sammy injured, West Indies were forced to make a couple of changes. The wicketkeeper Chadwick Walton got his first game on tour, while the left-arm spinner Nikita Miller replaced Sammy.

New Zealand left out Kane Williamson and brought in the fast bowler Adam Milne, who's playing his first one-dayer at home.

West Indies 1 Johnson Charles, 2 Kieran Powell, 3 Lendl Simmons, 4 Chadwick Walton, 5 Dwayne Bravo (capt), 6 Denesh Ramdin (wk), 7 Narsingh Deonarine, 8 Nikita Miller, 9 Sunil Narine, 10 Jason Holder 11 Ravi Rampaul

New Zealand 1 Martin Guptill, 2 Jesse Ryder, 3 Ross Taylor, 4 Brendon McCullum (capt), 5 Corey Anderson, 6 Luke Ronchi, (wk), 7 James Neesham, 8 Nathan McCullum, 9 Mitchell McClenaghan, 10 Adam Milne, 11 Kyle Mills

Kanishkaa Balachandran is a senior sub-editor at ESPNcricinfo

Post shared by M Usman Arshad
Orignaly posted here


Muhammad Asghar said...

<a href="http://www.paktopics.com.com wow,very informative stuff for all of us. thanks a lot! </a>

Muhammad Asghar said...

<a href="http://www.paktopics.com.com wow,very informative stuff for all of us. thanks a lot! </a>


Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...